Scuba Diving

A great hobby that I enjoy very much is scuba diving. Most people when they hear the word scuba diving think of snorkeling, but snorkeling and scuba diving have a big difference if you compare them together. The people that think of snorkeling don’t understand the concept of scuba diving. When I hear the word scuba diving I think of seeing the underwater world and how different it is compared to the world above the sea. I really enjoy scuba diving, the only problem I have is a fear of sharks. From past experiences of movies, as well as video games they always interpret a shark as a terrible animal that only wants to rip off your legs or eat you alive and that always freaked me out. I have snorkeled with nurse sharks, although that was a little scary those sharks didn’t have teeth, so it wasn’t that bad. Anyways the first time I went scuba diving I was down in Turks and Caicos and loved it when I went down. After that vacation my whole family went scuba diving on another vacation we went on. After that, we all got certified as open water divers. The process was long and the test was hard, but once we all passed the test we then went to get our five open water dives done. To pass the test we had to know the scuba diving gear like the back of our hands. We had to know that you need goggles with a nose plug, a BCD, A respirator, a secondary respirator, down to your flippers, weights, etc. After passing the test we had five open water dives. Going down to around 40 feet deep for the first couple of dives, we would spend about an hour underwater practicing emergency techniques etc. One of the dives we were sitting down about 60 feet deep on some sand, in a circle and each and everyone of us had to take off our goggles, and put them back on as well as emptying the water from inside of our goggles after we put them on, we also had to throw our respirator out of our mouth and calmly put it back in safely. Once everyone was done with those procedures my cousin asked my brother (with hand motions) to loosen his goggles, knowing my brother instead of loosening he tightened them so hard that they broke 60 feet below sea level! Luckily Our instructor was prepared and had an extra pair with him. After all of those training procedures we finally got our certificate! I feel proud to accomplish something as great as that!

Leave a comment