Lake Cabin

In the summer my family and I love to go up to our lake cabin, located at Lake Brant. This location is about 45 minutes away from Sioux Falls, so it’s not much of a drive. Going to the lake is one of the best activities that we do in the summer. There is so many activities to do there! Some of these activities include water sports, jerking, wake boarding, and more. This lake cabin was designed to hold each family in their own bed room. So with that it can get a little crowded but yet it is very fun

On the 4th of July, for the last few years my sister has conducted an activity called the Amazing Race. With this race we split up the family into teams of two, and do crazy and sometimes humorous things to achieve first place! Some of these activities include: feeding partner baby food, getting a picture jumping into the lake, eating hot peppers, digging to find certain items, and even trivia questions. We have only one hour to complete as many activities as possible. Last year I was partnered with my grandpa, honestly I thought it was going to be a struggle, but I was completely wrong. He is actually fast and he knows really knows trivia.

Another big activity we do at the lake is called the Chester Street Dance. Lake Brant is about 5 minutes away from a small town called Chester, which has a population of 261 (2010). Every year they host a huge dance that includes pop, alcohol, loud country music, and drunk people who think they can dance. The dance isn’t really for me, I’m not a dancer, but I still enjoy going because I like to see some friends that show up as well as see everyone going crazy. My brother and sister always brings out their friends and drinks a lot. Since I’m the responsible one I am normally the designated driver for them, so I find myself driving them back and forth from the cabin around 3:00AM.

 

I have taken many pictures at the lake and somehow got an enormous amount of likes. I have been tagged in photos as well as taken photos. Many people are asking to come hangout with me at my lake cabin although I’m not comfortable with bringing people I hardly know to my second home.

Going to the lake with my family is extremely fun, and I’m looking forward to it this summer!

Leave a comment